No content on this site constitutes medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment recommendation. This article is for informational and educational purposes only. TopShelfMushrooms.com maintains a disclosed commercial relationship with Pilly Labs, one of the brands compared in this article; that relationship did not influence the evaluation criteria or findings below, and no affiliate links appear in this article.
By TopShelfMushrooms.com Editorial Team
Quick Answer: This comparison evaluates four mushroom coffee brands — Four Sigmatic, MAX FIT, Pilly Labs, and RYZE — on disclosed mushroom species, per-species dosage transparency, price per serving, caffeine disclosure, and refund policy as actually written rather than as marketed. Pilly Labs is the only brand of the four that discloses exact milligram amounts per species. MAX FIT is the least expensive per serving but the least transparent on ingredient disclosure and carries a marketed refund commitment that doesn’t match its written policy. No brand here is a uniformly “best” choice; each fits a different reader priority, detailed below.
How We Evaluated These Mushroom Coffee Products
We selected four mushroom coffee brands with meaningful market presence and SERP visibility for mushroom coffee search terms: Four Sigmatic, MAX FIT, Pilly Labs, and RYZE. Each product was evaluated against the same six dimensions: disclosed mushroom species count against any marketed species-count claim, whether per-species milligram amounts are published, price per serving at standard one-time pricing, whether caffeine content is disclosed, the refund or commitment policy as written on the brand’s own dedicated policy page (not as summarized in marketing banners), and any third-party testing or certification claims made by the brand. No independent product testing was conducted for this comparison; all information is sourced from each brand’s own published website content, current as of September 2026. Products are ordered alphabetically below, not by our own preference or by any affiliate relationship — TopShelfMushrooms.com discloses a commercial relationship with Pilly Labs elsewhere on this site, and that relationship played no role in either the ordering or the findings in this comparison.
The Comparison Framework — Decision Points That Matter
Four decision points separate these products in practice, more than flavor or marketing copy: how many of the claimed mushroom species a brand actually names across its own materials, whether any milligram amount is disclosed for those species, what a serving actually costs once you divide the bag price by the true serving count, and what happens if you want your money back. A product that claims an impressive species count but discloses none of it, or that advertises a generous refund policy that its own fine print contradicts, is telling you something about that brand’s transparency standards generally, not just about that one data point.
Four Sigmatic
Four Sigmatic’s Original Mushroom Coffee names five mushroom species directly on its product page — lion’s mane, chaga, cordyceps, reishi, and turkey tail — all disclosed by name, with no undisclosed “and others” language. Per-species milligram amounts are not published. The product also includes vitamin B12, a probiotic strain (Bacillus subtilis DE111) disclosed at 500 million CFU per serving, organic coconut milk powder, and organic yacon powder. Thirty servings sell for $50.00 one-time, or at a discounted subscription rate, working out to roughly $1.67 per serving at full price, the highest per-serving cost of the four brands compared here. Four Sigmatic states USDA organic certification, and markets the product as gluten-free, keto-friendly, plant-based, and tested for toxins, though independent verification of these certification claims was outside the scope of this report. The brand’s stated refund policy is a 60-day money-back commitment described as “no questions asked.”
MAX FIT
MAX FIT’s Original 10 Mushrooms Instant Coffee is marketed around a “10 mushroom” claim, but across the brand’s own product pages and its retail listings, only seven species are ever named: lion’s mane, reishi, chaga, cordyceps, turkey tail, shiitake, and maitake. No milligram amount is disclosed for any species, and no page discloses all ten. A 60-serving, 5-ounce bag sells for $19.99 one-time (or $18.99 on subscription), working out to roughly $0.33 per serving, by far the least expensive of the four brands compared here. Caffeine content is not disclosed on the Original product page. No organic or third-party testing certification claims appear on the brand’s official materials. MAX FIT’s homepage and product pages prominently display “100% NO-RISK MONEY BACK GUARANTEE” and “365-DAYS REFUNDS,” but the brand’s own dedicated refund policy page states a 7-day window from receipt, applicable only to damaged or lost items, with the policy explicitly stating that the product is non-returnable as a perishable consumable good. Full detail on this discrepancy is documented in our MAX FIT Mushroom Coffee review.
Pilly Labs
Pilly Labs’ Premium Mushroom Coffee names two species — organic lion’s mane and organic chaga — and is the only brand of the four compared here to disclose an exact milligram amount for each: approximately 300mg of lion’s mane and 300mg of chaga per serving, for roughly 600mg of total mushroom content in a roughly 2-gram serving. Twenty-seven servings sell for $47.99 regular price, or $40.79 on a subscribe-and-save plan, working out to roughly $1.78 per serving at full price, the highest per-serving cost among the four. The brand states the product is manufactured in an FDA-registered, GMP-certified facility and is third-party tested for contaminants. Caffeine is described on the product page as “approximately equivalent to one standard cup of coffee” without a specific milligram figure. The stated refund policy is a 30-day satisfaction guarantee with no-questions-asked returns, plus automatic replacement or refund for damaged shipments.
RYZE
RYZE markets its Mushroom Coffee as containing six adaptogenic mushrooms, though the brand’s own product page for the 90-serving size does not name all six species or disclose any milligram amounts; lion’s mane and turkey tail are confirmed by name through the brand’s retail marketplace listings, while the remaining species named in retail titles are not consistently listed across all of the brand’s own pages. The formula also includes MCT oil. Ninety servings were listed at $115.00 at the time of this report (noted by the brand as a limited-time promotional price), working out to roughly $1.28 per serving; readers should check current pricing directly, as promotional pricing changes. RYZE states its product is USDA organic, vegan, non-GMO, and keto-friendly, and is grown in the USA. The stated refund policy is a 30-day money-back commitment described as “no questions asked.”
Side-by-Side: The Six Decision Points
On species disclosed by name against any marketed species-count claim: Four Sigmatic names all 5 of the species it markets; Pilly Labs names both of the 2 it markets; RYZE names 2 of 6 clearly, with the rest inconsistently disclosed; MAX FIT names 7 of a marketed 10. On per-species milligram disclosure: only Pilly Labs discloses exact amounts; the other three disclose none. On price per serving at full price: MAX FIT is lowest at roughly $0.33, followed by RYZE at roughly $1.28, Four Sigmatic at roughly $1.67, and Pilly Labs at roughly $1.78. On caffeine disclosure: none of the four publish an exact milligram figure for their flagship product, though Four Sigmatic and Pilly Labs each provide a qualitative caffeine description. On refund policy match between marketing and written terms: Four Sigmatic, Pilly Labs, and RYZE each market a commitment window that is consistent, in the materials we reviewed, with their own stated policy; MAX FIT’s marketed commitment language does not match its own written refund policy, as detailed in our MAX FIT review. On third-party testing or facility certification claims: Pilly Labs and Four Sigmatic each make specific claims (FDA-registered/GMP-certified facility and third-party contaminant testing for Pilly Labs; USDA organic and toxin testing for Four Sigmatic); RYZE claims USDA organic status; MAX FIT makes no certification claims.
Which Formula for Which Situation
A reader whose top priority is knowing exactly what they’re consuming, down to the milligram, is best served by Pilly Labs, the only brand here that discloses exact per-species dosing, even though its two-species formula is narrower than the others and its per-serving cost is the highest of the four. A reader who wants the broadest, most transparently-named species list along with added functional ingredients like a probiotic strain is best served by Four Sigmatic, which names all five of its marketed species clearly, at the highest overall cost per serving. A reader who wants a higher species count with organic and non-GMO claims and doesn’t need per-species dosing is a reasonable fit for RYZE, understanding that not every claimed species is consistently named across the brand’s own pages. A reader whose primary constraint is budget, who wants to try mushroom coffee as a category before committing to a pricier option, and who is comfortable with limited ingredient disclosure, is the segment MAX FIT fits best on price — provided that reader also reads MAX FIT’s actual refund policy rather than relying on its marketed commitment language, since a return based on taste or lack of perceived effect does not appear to qualify under the policy as written.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which mushroom coffee brand discloses the most ingredient transparency?
Pilly Labs is the only one of the four brands compared in this report that discloses exact milligram amounts for its mushroom species (approximately 300mg each of lion’s mane and chaga). Four Sigmatic names all five of its marketed species clearly but does not disclose amounts. RYZE and MAX FIT both market a higher species count than they consistently name across their own materials, which is the clearest transparency gap identified across this comparison. A reader who prioritizes knowing exactly what’s in a serving should weight this dimension heavily, even above species count or price.
Which mushroom coffee is the cheapest per serving?
MAX FIT is the least expensive of the four brands compared here at roughly $0.33 per serving at full one-time price, followed by RYZE at roughly $1.28, Four Sigmatic at roughly $1.67, and Pilly Labs at roughly $1.78. Lower cost accompanies lower ingredient disclosure in this comparison, which is a tradeoff worth weighing rather than a coincidence: the two lowest-disclosure brands in this comparison are also the two with the widest gap between marketed species count and species actually named on their own materials.
Do these mushroom coffee brands have good refund policies?
Four Sigmatic, Pilly Labs, and RYZE each state a refund or money-back commitment window (60, 30, and 30 days respectively) that matched their own written policy language in the materials we reviewed. MAX FIT is the exception: its marketing prominently promises a “365-day, no-risk” guarantee, but its own dedicated refund policy page describes a much narrower 7-day window limited to damaged or lost items, with the product otherwise stated as non-returnable as a perishable good. Always check a brand’s actual policy page, not just its marketing banners, before purchasing, since the two can say meaningfully different things about your actual recourse if you’re unhappy with a purchase.
Is a higher mushroom species count better?
Not necessarily. A higher claimed species count without disclosed per-species amounts, as with RYZE and MAX FIT in this comparison, tells a reader less than a lower species count with disclosed dosing, as with Pilly Labs. A ten-species blend with zero disclosed amounts could contain a meaningful dose of each, or a trace amount of most, and there’s no way to tell from the label alone. Our companion ingredient research report covers why per-species dosing matters more than raw species count when evaluating any mushroom coffee product’s likely research relevance.
For more on how caffeine and mushroom compounds interact mechanistically across all of these products, see our caffeine and mushroom compound interaction report. For medication interactions and who should consult a physician before trying any mushroom coffee product, see our mushroom coffee safety guide.
This article reflects independent research by the TopShelfMushrooms.com editorial team, based on each brand’s own published materials as of September 2026. TopShelfMushrooms.com maintains a disclosed commercial relationship with Pilly Labs; that relationship did not influence the evaluation criteria, product ordering, or findings above, and no affiliate links appear in this article. No content on this site constitutes medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment recommendation. Statements about functional mushrooms have not been evaluated by the FDA.
Leave a Reply